Goals for 2014

I have this hanging on my wall at home, with hand-drawn boxes to check things off after I achieve them. I’ve been doing this for a few years now.

“The list” is in my living room, reminding me to get up and go have fun when I start to feel lazy. Instead of falling into the doldrums and doing the same favorite hikes again and again, this pushes me to go out and enjoy new experiences.ย  Maybe more importantly, as the year goes by and the page fills with checks, it makes me feel like I’ve been making good use of my time; it’s the cure to worries about squandered youth.

I read something Brendan Leonard wrote, called Make Plans, not Resolutions, and this is my way of doing that.

So what are my plans? Goals for 2014

  • Kayak on Diablo Lake
  • Kayak camp on Ross or Diablo Lake
  • Bike the North Cascades Highway
  • Bike the Columbia River Gorge
  • Bike the Skagit Tulip Flats
  • Continue to climb
  • Climb more: alpine, multi-pitch, lead
  • Backpack a Railroad Grade / Park Butte loop
  • Backpack to Stehekin (from Easy Pass? Spider Meadow?)
  • Backpack to Sahale Glacier Camp with the nice camera
  • Climb Sahale Peak
  • Get into the Picket Range (Terror Basin? Grand traverse?)
  • Hike in Mount Adams country
  • Explore the Goat Rocks
  • Play on glaciers
  • Hang out with mountain goats
  • Sleep outdoors 45+ nights

The last few are “summary goals,” if I do everything else on the list, I won’t be able to help achieving them. This leaves out a few things I know I’ll do anyway, like hike and scramble ridges in the Teanaway, which is how the goats will find me.

Most people who enjoy this blog like the photos, and I don’t want to let you down. Here are a handful of photos relating to the things I plan to do this year.

Hannegan Peak, Mount Baker Country

Hannegan Peak, Mount Baker country, one way into the Picket Range

Mountain goats!

A mountain goat in the Teanaway

Diablo Lake, and my Cervelo R3

Cycling the North Cascades Highway at Diablo Lake

Diablo Lake shows up three times on my wish list, it’s a glacial lake in the heart of the North Cascades. Later in the season the water slowly turns a beautiful shade of turquoise because of the glacier flower. This was from a very early spring ride.

Sunset from Sahale Camp

The view from Sahale Glacier Camp at sunset

Sahale Camp sits at the edge of the glacier, and is the highest camp in North Cascades National Park. It looks down on majestic peaks and glaciers, which seemed to radiate in the dark night. This was an amazing thing to see, paid for by a brutal hike. It’s something I need to photograph. Climbing the peak is something I’ve wanted to do for a couple years. Climbing in general may seem like a soft-ball goal; sometimes keeping momentum going is important.

7 thoughts on “Goals for 2014

  1. Great goals! I have been wanting to kayak across Diablo lake and camp somewhere on the shore for a awhile now. It is such an insanely gorgeous lake! Cheers to making things happen in 2014!

    • I’ve always loved Diablo Lake – how could you not? – and camped there several times. But the main campground can get crowded, and there’s a lot more to the lake than you can see on foot. I’ve kayaked a bunch of times on Ross Lake, you can hike in to the resort and rent one for the day, but Diablo is prettier in a lot of ways. Hopefully we’ll both make it happen…!

  2. Whoa, Forrest, 45 nights! That’s a tall order in my book. Great looking bucket list! I especially like the “get into the Pickets.” I recall reading about something called Easy Ridge, I think, that had a great view of them. Can’t wait to hear how your list goes!

    • I agree 45 nights isn’t going to be easy. I got 34 last year, so I think it’s within reach. The Pickets, on the other hand, are going to be much more challenging. But the photos I’ve seen are gorgeous. The solitude is going to be extreme! Pretty much everything about the idea gives me goosbumps. One idea is to hike in from Hannegan Pass, leave the trail for an adventure, and come out at Ross Lake. Another is to follow Goodell Creek up into Terror Basin, which sounds like such a nice, happy place to be. ๐Ÿ˜‰ There’s nothing like camping at the snout of a glacier under bright moonlight.

  3. I really like the hanging out with mountain goats part. Clearly you have a passion for this. I think the part of the country you live in is ideal for an outdoor lifestyle. I live in Florida and I can tell you, there are not many hiking opportunities. But we have outdoor fun in other ways.

    So when you say 45 days…is that all back-to-back? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Haha, back to back would be pretty intense! (Although I’d love to do the PCT…) I got 34 last year, I think the most was 6 at a time.

      Mountain goats are friendly and cute. They like to welcome travelers to the alpine world and when it’s very steep they’ll walk below you to break your fall in case you lose your footing. They have very nice cashmere sweaters.

      I’ve heard people can actually swim outdoors in Florida. Most years, we get a warm spell that lasts several hours, and you can go in Lake Washington. Usually in August. The downside is that this weird yellow thing appears in the sky and everybody goes blind for a while. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

